Inception On Through

3878_89578551460_294998_n“Poetry is nearer to vital truth than history”.

So said a Classical philosopher from Greece. Well, Plato may be dead, but fortunately we have our own beardy scholar…

When he’s not considering the intellectual consequences of denying the reality of the material world, running, or having a few beers in Seoul Pub, he’s writing poetry. Over to you Dave…

Inception On Through

Its conception at inception de rigueur it was indeed
some stalwart man who ascertained a Seoulwide runners’ need
for silly folks to jog along nary color, race nor creed
truth of which is evident – they even let in me.
 
There was Young who dug potatoes
and the Sun who urged us faster
and old Pierre the stalwart one who’d start… and finish after
and Jae the said above who put it all together
and mass critical Mark would make his mark running
 slow and slow and slow, for him, to yak so much the better.
 
Others came and came they did, the club was such a hit!
so many runners running running
so many flies to so much__________
ahh, no never mind that awful rhyme… just a figment of your filthy mind
and there it is, you see it’s true
regardless of your potty mouth… they even let in you.
 
Truly it was phenomenal
This fellowship of fools
Pounding pavement chewing pastry
And not EVERYbody’s teaching school!
 
Eventually an Adam came
Our clown, hey, what say you?
Sorry, never heard a word
I was drooling at Min Ju.
 
And lest I be admonished
Though you might just be astonished
But earlier when there was me
Another one was there – Marie!
 
And Shira with her pen in hand
Or is it that my other beer?
Alison and Leah, who we all wish well, and wishes sent
Wish even more that they were here.
 
The roster just goes on and on
Too old, too dim, poor me, to summon all I can’t recall
But we all have memories
Of freezing nights and mates in tights
And I know I’ve seen you all
With parch-id mouths and eyes turned south
At the butts you’ll soon recall
 
Yes many here not mentioned
Were you missed you? no ill-intention
ChrisesJeffs and Saras and at least a James or two
Flashes of Ashes, and what Adeel, all the runners coming through
 
April and a drawling Blair
The avant-garde Hyo Jin
See you at a race or social
Hey, how the hell you been?
Jackys and Eddies and miles with Kyles
Now that’s a stupid count!
Miles, not Kyles
Damn! I’m leaving someone out.
Annas, Biatas, Sylvies and Claires
Jennys and pretty pink L Maries
Vanessas and Michaels
And of course there’s Sam who damned some grams
By running fasterly
I can’t recall those many all who challenged self and bested walls.
So pity please poor me
 
We even have a Chuck
Who sometimes needs reminding
Yes, indeed, we all do give a _______________
Ahh! Gee! Hwa! There you go again!
What is it with you people
Must you default always to profane?
 
And who could forget
But was it them or him?
The misters Lee and Park and Kim.
And I may be old, but I’m not blind
My mama raised no foo
I just love to run behind the lovely Sarah Gu.
 
Sadly, we have only
Just the one Uriah
A running blur
Hey, where’s he gone?
I’m not too sure,
But I don’t think it was Ohiya.
 
Sorry, it’s too long, I know, but let me finish ere I go
Don’t be harsh or shamed or shrill
but I can’t resist just a little bit of my own doggerel
One day I may just find a way to make it fast as, say, oh…Chul?
 
The cheetah who hails from cold damp lands
And makes it always to the finishing stand
Lovely and humble and held in awe
Who inspires mere mortals to say, “I can!”
 
Now Thursdays come
And where’d we have been
Without the honorary sweet Marlene
But she rides bikes
I don’t have a rhyme for that.
 
So there it is on through inception
Days to years a growed conception
This club has history!
So thwarting misconception
Though you go you’re part of we
 
Cos bear in mind
Our mortal days, alas, they number few
And happenstance, don’t turn askance cos there may be a damn good chance
That he or she was at least once
Sidelined months with you.
 
Now, me, I’m just the rhymer
Never hurt a soul, it’s true!
But just don’t get me Buckley started
Or there’s none to blame but you.
 
So, there’s your entry, Matthew
Not so great, but hey, it’s done
So leave me to myself in peace
You pestering twatly one!
 

Tonetti, Spring 2013

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Inception On Through

  1. leann says:

    Brilliant poem Uncle Dave!!

Leave a comment