Meet the Board: Episode II

Sequels are always terrible really aren’t they, with the possible exception of The Godfather Part II . Either way, here it is, the listlessly anticipated second instalement, significantly more entertaining than Speed 2 at very least… Over to you Boardies…

PierrePierre Matthee

Describe yourself in five words: Content and happy with life.

What I’d like to bring to the Board: Running is for everyone.  Accomplishment means different things to different people.  I think that should always be on the mind of the Board.  We need to allow people to reach their goals, but ensure that the camaraderie and support is never overlooked.  That is what gets many of us across the line.

What I love about the club: I had run my “last marathon” in New Zealand on my 50th birthday 9 years ago.  After joining Seoul Flyers in 2009, Jae Kim convinced me I had one more marathon in me and since then I have run 6 more marathons, 5 in Korea and 1 in Japan.  Wouldn’t have done that without Seoul Flyers!

Race I’d like to forget: There are no races I would like to forget, each one for me is an accomplishment in different ways.  Sometimes just getting to the finish line is enough.

Your biggest running accomplishment: That approaching my 60th birthday I am still going strong, slowly, but strong. And planning for my 24th marathon in February 2013.

Future sporting ambitions: To run until I die – and hoping that is not any time soon!

If stuck in a lift with any one Seoul Flyers for two hours (not including any respective other-halves), I would want to to be with….

I can’t pick one here – it would have to be Chris Green and Adeel Ahmed.  I find their conversations very entertaining and I could sit peacefully waiting to be rescued.

JimJim Bates

Describe yourself in five words:  I think outside the box.

What I’d like to bring to the Board:  I like to think that I bring experience, a passion for running, enthusiasm for helping others gain a love for running, and a volunteer spirit to help our club become even better.

What I love about the club:  I love the camaraderie and diversity of our members.

Most memorable race or run:  My most memorable race was the first time I broke 3 hours in a marathon.  It was the Seoul Marathon and I finished in 2:59:59.

Race I’d like to forgetI’d like to forget the Hot Summer Marathon in 2010.  I had to walk the last 10 kilometers; I think I would have died of heat stroke if I had kept running.

Your biggest running accomplishment:  My biggest accomplishment has been making running a habit.  On average, over the last 28 years I have run at least one mile more than 355 days out of each year.

Future sporting ambitions:  I’d like to break 3 hours in a marathon again when I hit 60 years old.  I’d also like to reach 100,000 lifetime miles and run 100 marathons before I reach that final finish line.

If stuck in a lift with any one Seoul Flyers for two hours, I would want to to be with…I think it would be Sun Tae Bae.  I’d ask him to teach me how to hit the high notes in the song, “Bridge over Troubled Water.”

Blair Brachear

BlairDescribe yourself in five words: JUST 5? This is hard… Creative, Open Minded, Confident, Unique, Adaptable.

What I’d like to bring to the Board: Share my career knowledge/creativity and be a part of decisions which will guarantee an amazing year for our club, as well as to help achieve our goals and become an even more united club… Shall I start singing “Kumbaya My Lord“?

What I love about the club: For some reason the Seoul Flyers Club attracts people who are genuinely nice and caring people. This is rare and I knew i wanted in.

Most memorable race or run: DMZ Race – great location and I won a medal!

Race I’d like to forget: TheEnergizer Race – Ugh! There should be disclaimers for races like this one… Like Enter at your own risk… Oh yeah, there probably was. In Hanguel!

Your biggest running accomplishment: 4th November 2012 – 1st completed full marathon.

Future sporting ambitions: To run a marathon every year.

If stuck in a lift with any one Seoul Flyers for two hours, I would want to be with….

HyoJin Jeon.

DouglasDouglas Hanson

Describe yourself in five words: Peaceful (sometimes), Unassuming (try to be), Competitive (of course when we are running!), Lucky (very grateful for the blessings in my life), Joker (most of the time!)

What I’d like to bring to the Board: I always want to make sure that we are creating/supporting running events that our members can enjoy. That is, both running events and social events.

What I love about the club: I love how we can get together to run then have coffee on Saturdays. I really like running and I really like coffee.

Most memorable race or run: So far, that super rainy race at World Cup Park on Nov. 11th – the Sports Seoul Run. I got 43:53 min. in the 10k and that was an huge emotional milestone for me since I was struggling with getting under 45 min for so long. I’ve improved on that time but that was a great race for me.

Race I’d like to forget: I don’t want to forget any of them. Especially the ones that I ran when I should have rested and listened to my body.

Your biggest running accomplishment: Really, joining the Seoul Flyers has been my biggest accomplishment. Well, it’s been the best opportunity for me to get into running and have so many great experiences and meet great people. There is no way I could have done all the SF things on my own.

Future sporting ambitions: My goals are to improve my times and be injury free. I also really, really enjoy nordic skiing and mountain biking. I want to be active as long as I am alive.

If stuck in a lift with any one Seoul Flyers for two hours (not including any respective other-halves), I would want to to be with….

Hmmm, OK. Well, then in that case. I choose one of SF’s best 4 legged runner – “Brownie” (Jacky and Sam’s dog).

HyoJinHyoJin Jeon

Describe yourself in five words: I don’t give a *@%$!

What I’d like to bring to the Board: Efficient decision process.

What I love about the club: Flyers run and eat. Those are two things that bring joy to my life.

Most memorable race or run: Unfortunately don’t have on yet.

Race I’d like to forget: The 2012 Samcheok Race – I ran with an ankle bracelet on my left foot. I knew it was gonna be bad during the first 10 min of the race. But I kept running (I didn’t wanna be a quitter, ahem), but that was the stupidest thing I’ve ever done. Since the bracelet blocked blood circulation, my foot felt like a rock, and I was in so much pain after.

Your biggest running accomplishment: Yet to come.

Future sporting ambitions: Triathlon races… Oops! But it does have a running element!

If stuck in a lift with any one Seoul Flyers for two hours, I would want to be with…. Isn’t it too obvious? It’s Matt Buckley. He probably wanted everyone to say his name here when he created this question. (Quite possibly – Ed)

Oh, and a few words from a certain Mr. Dixon too. Huge thank you to the dedicated members of the 2012 Board, as well as the Race Coordinators and various volunteers …

JeffJeff Dixon

Describe yourself in five words: Sad to be leaving Seoul.

What I love about the club: Everything! The people, the locations and the opportunities to not just run a race but enjoy races collectively.

Most memorable race or run: Chuncheon Marathon

Race I’d like to forget: That stupid Melon race on the stinking tributary.

Your biggest running accomplishment:
Setting all new over-40 PBs in 2012.

Future sporting ambitions: Run a 50miler, a 100km, and a 100mile race in the next five years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

